Meatless Monday

I do my best to cut out meat where possible.  Unfortunately, it seems like most of the vegetarian recipes out there are salad, salad, or salad or throw in some pasta and we have a meal.  I want low carb, non-salad veggie recipes please! So I reposted a gazpacho recipe I saw on Facebook on Monday, but wasn’t in the mood to make it Monday night. This made me visit the website to see if I could find a recipe that I did want to make for Meatless Monday.  I finally came across this asparagus frittata that looked yummy and also was low calorie.

It looked like I had most of the ingredients and it wouldn’t take too long so I decided this was going to be Monday’s dinner.

I substituted white asparagus for the green and used powdered ginger, because the grocery store was out of these items.  I also added fresh spinach and a handful of shredded cheese (to make it more appealing for my husband).

The spinach was a nice addition, white asparagus tastes just like green, and couldn’t taste the ginger (I didn’t measure) or the cheese.  Overall it was a good meal. I did serve it with the salsa, which kinda makes the dish.

It made a great breakfast! Easy to reheat, filling, and healthy.  I think I’ll be making these quite often so that I have ready made breakfast throughout the week.

You can always change the ingredients to include bacon and cheese or ham and swiss if you prefer.  I bet you could add chicken the regular recipe if you want to add some meat to it.

Of course while I was making this I thought to myself, “Does this really count as meatless? These are chicken eggs…” Thoughts?

Ingredients

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil  (I used about 2)
1 small onion, very thinly sliced    (I went light on the onion and diced, diced, diced)
2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger  (I used powered)
2 cloves garlic, minced    (I used 2 Tablespoons of previously diced garlic)
3∕4 pound asparagus, cut into 1∕2-inch pieces, ends discarded   (I just used a bunch – no idea on the weight)
1 red bell pepper, top removed and seeds scraped and discarded, cut into 1∕2-inch pieces (I diced into small chunks)
9 large eggs
3∕4 cup ricotta cheese
Freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup tomato salsa (optional garnish)

Nutrition Facts

Serves 6. Per serving: 245 calories, 19 g fat (6 g saturated), 14 g protein, 6 g carbohydrates, 1 g fiber, 399 mg sodium.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325° F. Over medium heat in a medium oven-proof skillet (I used cast iron), heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil until shimmering. Cook the onion, ginger and garlic, stirring constantly until just fragrant, about 1 minute. Add asparagus and red bell pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until asparagus is tender, about 5 minutes.
2. In a large bowl, gently beat eggs with ricotta until fully combined.
3. Remove about 1∕2 cup of asparagus and 1∕2 cup of red bell pepper from the skillet. Make sure the remaining asparagus, bell pepper, garlic and ginger are spread evenly in the skillet, then pour in the egg-ricotta mixture and season with freshly ground black pepper to taste, and salt. Cook until edges are set, about 2 minutes. Spread the reserved asparagus and red bell pepper pieces over the top of the frittata.
4. Transfer skillet to the oven and bake until firm, about 25 minutes. Garnish with remaining tablespoon of olive oil and tomato salsa, if desired.

See more ideas at: Natural Health Magazine

Leave a Reply

