(Mostly) Meatless Monday

My quest for successfully participating in Meatless Monday has been easier the past two weeks because my husband has been at Scuba class. I wonder how I’ll fare next Monday…

I found this one on Pinterest when I searched for “Vegetarian recipes” and I found a few that I can’t wait to try. I chose this one because somewhere in my head I decided I had most of these ingredients.

As my husband knows, I’m quite “creative” in the kitchen.  This soup look very tasty, easy to make, vegetarian, and healthy.

Below is the recipe.  I can’t get to my food processor right now, so I decided that my blender would work just fine.  LOL – That poor blender is at least 10 years old and I have used it for soo many crazy things!  I used it to mix my batters for years (I finally got a beater and a mixer for Christmas 2 years ago, so the blender caught a break).  I’m surprised the blades are still sharp… but they definitely are! I cut the edge of our Cutco knife with is last night and pierced my finger while cleaning it. Anyway.

So I put the onion and garlic in the blender, and pureed them… Then I read that puree was later in the recipe. Oops. So I sauteed the pureed garlic and onion. I only used about a 1/2 of a medium onion, because that is what I had and then added some green onion to the mix.  I used cauliflower instead of broccoli, again, that is what I had and I used the slap chop on it (I love that thing & it’s a knock off!). I swore I had cannellini beans, but i didn’t, so I used garbanzo beans and pureed them in the blender.  This is where we get to Mostly Meatless.  While I was pureeing the beans, I needed some juice to help the process along, so I grabbed the vegetable broth out of the fridge and poured a little in the blender.  Well turns out it was chicken broth.  So now that I figured out I didn’t have vegetable broth, I had to make some.  Thankfully I had “Better Than Bouillon” in Vegetable.  I mixed 4 teaspoons of BTB with 4 cups of water, and heated until it was consistent.  I didn’t really measure the salt or pepper (they are in grinders), but I know I put less salt and more pepper than the recipe called for. I’m guessing it was more pepper because my soup has a kick to it.  I used less rosemary as well, because I used dried rosemary from my garden (FYI: dried herbs pack a bigger flavor kick than fresh so be mindful when you substitute).  I also added spinach and diced green bell peppers to step 4 and threw in 2 sliced crimini mushrooms at step 8.  I did serve with aged Parmesan cheese.

I was really happy with how the soup turned out and am secretly hoping that my husband won’t eat any so that I can have meatless lunch all week.  I guess we can call it Cauliflower Garbanzo Bean Soup.

I also can’t wait to actually make this recipe with all the correct ingredients, so look for it to pop up again in the future.

Broccoli White Bean Soup

Ingredients:

4 cloves of garlic
1 medium onion
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 large head of broccoli (approx. 4 cups) washed and cut into florets
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp paprika
1 can (15 oz) cannellini beans, rinsed
4 cups low sodium vegetable broth
2 tbsp fresh rosemary, washed and chopped
optional: parmesan cheese

Step by Step Instructions:

1. Using a food processor, shred garlic and onions

2. In a sauce pot or dutch oven, heat olive oil and saute garlic and onions on medium heat for 4-5 minutes

3. Shred broccoli in the food processor until desired size is reached

4. Add broccoli and saute in onion/garlic mixture 2-3 minutes

5. Puree cannellini beans in the food processor and add to the vegetable mixture

6. Season with salt, pepper and paprika

7. Using a whisk, slowly incorporate vegetable broth

8. Add rosemary

9. Cover and simmer on med-low heat for 12-15 minutes until reduced to desired thickness

10. Serve with parmesan cheese and black pepper

125 calories    2.9g fat    312.76mg sodium

Leave a Reply

