Onions!

We use green onions all the time in our house.

So when I saw this pin, it was a no brainer to give it a try.

“The next time you have green onions, don’t throw away the white ends. Simply submerge them in a glass of water and place them in a sunny window. Your onions will begin to grow almost immediately and can be harvested almost indefinitely.”

The onions definitely start to grow… but mine are definitely not as pretty as those in the picture above. The water is slimy and gets a weird slime ring around it, so I empty and rinse it every once in a while. Now the water has a weird pink tint to it… They have been sitting in a sunny window the whole time.

Maybe I’m doing something wrong?

My Green Onions

My Green Onions

I threw mine out this morning and am going to try again.

Keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “Onions!

    • I’ve tried it in a shot glass, and the same size glass as the original photo.
      I can try again… But it’s so dry here, I’m not sure how much water would be acceptable without it being completely evaporated.
      Thanks for the pointers.

Leave a Reply

