Cream O’ Soup

If you’re like me, you use a lot of Cream Of ____ Soup for your recipes. If you’re still like me, you really don’t want to use Cream Of ____ Soup because of all the crazy ingredients.

So when I saw this post it was a no-brainer that I would have to try it.

My husband and I decided to make chicken pot pie for dinner, but we didn’t have a few of the key ingredients we needed to make it… One of them being the cream of ___ soup element. I remembered this pin, so I wala! we could still proceed.

The pin I found stated: “…2T butter + 2T flour (sauteed) + 1 c. milk. Add whatever (bouillon, dried mushrooms, etc.)…” Simple.

I used a bouillon cube, because I was out of broth. I had to keep stirring to get the cube to melt and not burn the cream of. The whole time I kept wishing I had one of those automatic stirrers, as seen on TV. LOL.

This was super easy to make, and I’m wondering if I can make multiple batches to store for later use…

Extended Steps:

  • Melt butter in a pan.
  • Add an equal amount of flour.  Stir until the flour is absorbed and has a paste-like consistency, about 1 minute.
  • Add 8 times as much liquid as butter.  So if you used 2 T. butter, you’ll add 16 T. of liquid (which is a cup).  Whisk it in in small increments and heat until smooth.  (“If you dump in a cup of cold milk then the butter/flour makes a million little globs that you’ll have to try to delump.”)
  • Continuously stir over heat (about 3 minutes), until smooth and heated through.  The longer you cook the thicker it will get.  Salt to taste.
  • Variations: Cream of chicken – add half milk or water, and half chicken broth.  You can add chicken bits if you like, and you can use coconut oil and almond milk if you are dairy free. Cream of mushroom – cook up some chopped mushrooms in the butter, then sprinkle with the flour and proceed. Cream of celery – soften finely chopped celery in the butter, then proceed.

 

2 thoughts on “Cream O’ Soup

Leave a Reply

