Vegetarian Stuffed Mushrooms

Prep Time: 10 minutes Cook ♦ Time: 20 minutes  Yield: Makes 4 servings (serving size: 1 mushroom)

I made these one night when my husband was out of town… I try not to subject him to the vegetarian meals until I know that I like them. I would definitely subject him to this one.

The large portobellos were a little scary looking (at the grocery store), so I went with the mediums. It worked out just fine.

I had Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so I used those instead of whole-grain. I also added some red pepper, just to give it even more veggie power.

Fontina cheese is very creamy. I think you could get away with a good mozzarella here as well.

I was really happy with these! I thought it was very yummy and super filling. I had two mediums stuffed caps and was… STUFFED!

Mushrooms are rich protein, potassium, and folate.

Mushrooms are rich protein, potassium, and folate.

Ingredients

  • 4 large portobello mushroom caps
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped tomato
  • 1/3 cup chopped kalamata olives
  • 1 cup fresh whole-grain breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup (4 ounces) shredded fontina cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Place mushroom caps, gill sides up, on a rimmed baking sheet; drizzle with oil and vinegar, and season with salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Bake until caps are just tender, about 10 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, combine tomato, olives, breadcrumbs, cheese, and chives in a medium bowl. Season with remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

4. Divide tomato mixture evenly (about 1/2 cup per mushroom) among portobello caps. Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned and mushrooms are tender. Serve hot.

EXTRA

I had way more than enough stuffing left over, so I got creative with it.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

IMG_5612

The stuffed peppers were my favorite. I boiled the peppers for a couple minutes, just to make them a little softer, then I baked them in the oven for 10-12 minutes, as above.

Vegetarian Stuffed Sweet Potato

IMG_5630The stuffed sweet potato was my least favorite. The flavors just didn’t mesh that well, but it is edible.

I’d love to hear what you think of this recipe and if you try any other alternatives!

 

Leave a Reply

