Lemon Lavender Shortbread Cookies

Shortbread cookies and coffee are a FAVORITE of mine! The other day, after drying and storing the lavender form the garden, I decided I just had to have lavender shortbread cookies…

So, I found this pin from Mountain Mama Cooks Lavender Shortbread Cookies.

This was a really easy recipe! I didn’t have time to finish making them the night I started, so I left the log in the fridge overnight. In the morning I pre-heated the oven, cut the cookies, and then baked them while I was in the shower. They came out just in time to be enjoyed with my morning coffee. Yum!

These cookies stored well also. I just packed them in Tupperware with a couple small pieces of bread.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons teaspoons dried lavender
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1 cup (two sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • course sugar, optional (I just used Sugar In The Raw)

Directions

In a food processor, pulse powdered sugar, dried lavender, and lemon zest until lavender flowers and lemon are well incorporated. Add softened butter to the food processor and cream with the sugar. Add flour and salt. Mix just to combine. Remove dough from food processor and on a large piece of parchment or waxed paper, gently form dough into an 8-inch log. Gently roll the paper around dough to create a smooth log. (Dough will be sticky) Chill dough at least 4 hours or up two a few days. When ready to bake, heat oven to 375F degrees. Slice chilled dough into 1/4-inch slices. If desired, roll or sprinkle in a course sanding sugar. Bake for 13-15 minutes. Remove from oven and cool completely before serving.

I couldn’t wait for them to cool completely, of course!! 🙂

My only trouble with these cookies was my ability to cut them in equal slices!

Leave a Reply

