Reboot: Day 3

“The best way to know if the foods you’re eating are making you feel like crap is to do a quick-start reboot — like turning your body back to its original settings. All you have to do is eat whole, fresh foods like you would have eaten one hundred years ago: fresh vegetables, clean proteins, nuts, seeds, good fats, and the occasional fruit. It also means it’s time to lose that addiction to sugar and flour; you should also refrain from caffeine, alcohol, gluten, and dairy for 10 days.” I just read this on MindBodyGreen‘s blog, on how to detox your body in 10 days. The post goes on to say that “If you completely change your diet for 10 days, what you’ll notice is that not only will your cravings subside, not only will your energy improve, and not only will you lose weight — which is actually a side effect of getting healthy — but a whole list of health problems (such as mysterious rashes, brain fog, and unexplained fatigue) may improve or disappear entirely.”

Interested? Check out the Blood Sugar Solution 10-Day Detox Diet by Dr. Mark Hyman.

So I’m still feeling a bit bloated, and have had a headache, at varying intensities, for 24 hours now. I drank more than 2 Liters of water yesterday, and am well on my way that amount today, so I can’t be dehydrated. Right?

Last night’s dinner and prep for today took a loooonnngg time. I finally went to bed at 11:30pm; I was tired at 7pm…

The Green Detox Soup was surprisingly good. I think it could use a little more herbs, but it’s a make again recipe.  The Roasted Acorn Squash Stuffed w/ Mushroom & Sage (& Onion – which I’m not supposed to eat) was really good too! That will definitely be made again.

Day 3 Menu
When You Wake Up       8-12 oz. of hot lemon water w/ turmeric and cinnamon

Breakfast Berry               Shamrock Smoothie

Morning Snack               Celery Pear Cucumber Green Juice

Lunch                              Squash & Apple Soup, Sauteed Greens w/ Garlic

Afternoon Snack            Celery Pear Cucumber Green Juice

Dinner                             Raw Carrot Ginger Soup, Roasted Acorn Squash Stuffed w/ Mushroom & Sage

Before Bed                      Herbal Tea

This morning I did have the warm lemon and turmeric water, but I didn’t taste the turmeric. I just dropped a slice of fresh turmeric in to steep. Maybe I need to try it with dried or grated turmeric?

The Shamrock Smoothie sure doesn’t taste anything like a Shamrock Shake. Not my favorite juice of the week. Maybe with more banana…

IMG_9658

Shamrock Smoothie

I deviated from my menu today… I had to take a co-worker out for lunch for winning an award. I thought this week was the best week to deviate if I must. I took him to eat Sushi. So I ate edamame, seaweed salad, miso soup, aged ashi tofu, 1 roll with apples and 1 fish (a Pokihama Roll – that was not my favorite) and lots of green tea and water. I tied to keep it close to my original guidelines… So I did not have my soup or the greens today.

Unfortunately I will have to deviate again tomorrow for another work lunch. We are going to eat Mexican, so I’m hoping to get veggie fajitas and just eat the veggies.

Today’s juice, Celery Pear Cucumber Green Juice is great! Very refreshing. I think it’s my new favorite juice!

I’m looking forward to tonight’s dinner, especially not having to prep it!

4 thoughts on “Reboot: Day 3

  1. Pingback: Roasted Acorn Squash Stuffed w/ Mushroom & Sage | The Pinned Project

  2. Pingback: Green Detox Soup | The Pinned Project

Leave a Reply

