Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Supershake

My husband and I were discussing how his morning’s were going for him, if he had enough food, if he wanted to continue with his morning juices, etc. He was finding that the breakfast sandwich and juice just weren’t enough for him. So I hunted through my pins and found this recipe. After reading through it, it seemed like a really good breakfast smoothie that would have some staying power behind it (I haven’t quite convinced him yet that he needs to have snacks on hand for a morning and afternoon snack).

I made this smoothie this morning, as it wasn’t too time consuming.

1/2 cup ice cubes
2 very ripe bananas
4 ounces fresh blueberries
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1/3 cup instant oatmeal/rolled oats
350-500 milliliters milk (that’s about 1 to 2 cups)
2 scoops mixed berry ice cream (optional) – I omitted this, as I don’t believe in ice cream for breakfast – but I’m sure as a mid-day snack it would be perfect!
2 tablespoons honey (optional)

Place all the ingredients into a blender and mix on high speed for a few minutes. Serve with optional garnish of banana slices and some frozen blueberries with a drizzle of honey.

It made about 32 ounces.

He texted me on the way to work raving about this shake! I can’t wait to taste it!

IMG_9688

Original recipe from Jordan McVay.

Leave a Reply

