Zucchini Bread with Pulp

I really wanted to try this recipe as soon as I saw it! Off the juice, I made it last night. I saved some carrot pulp from one of the juices I made this week just so I could make it.

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. I put two small zucchinis in the food processor, with the skin still on. Mix the zucchini and pulp along with the wet ingredients in one bowl and the dry ingredients in another bowl. Whisk the ingredients in each bowl, then mix them together into one bowl with a hand mixer.

I don’t have parchment paper, so I greased and floured the pan. My bread was thicker than regular zucchini bread consistency, as I used almost 2 cups of zucchini and 2 cups of carrot pulp… I wanted to use it all up in one cake…

I toasted the bread in the toaster oven and it is definitely a filling breakfast. Definitely will be making again. Next time I may try an egg substitute, like bananas, just to see what it tastes like. I think I can improve on the taste as well…

IMG_9755

Prep time: about 10 minutes
Bake time: 50-60 minutes
Oven temp: 350ºF

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups gluten-free all-purpose flour – I like Bette’s Gourmet 4 Flour Blend by Authentic Foods
1 teaspoon guar gum
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg 
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs or egg substitute equivalent – I like to use Egg Beaters (real egg whites)
6 Tablespoons cooking oil
1 cup (packed) grated, unpeeled zucchini – about 1 medium zucchini
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup pulp from Carrot, Broccoli, Apple, Spinach … Wow, That’s Green! juice*

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350º F. Line a 9x5x3 loaf pan with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, combine flourguar gumbaking powderbaking sodasaltcinnamon,nutmeg and sugar. Whisk together.

In a medium bowl or large mixing cup, combine eggsoilzucchinivanilla and pulp. Whisk together. Pour this mixture into dry mixture and stir vigorously with spoon until thoroughly blended. (This can be done in a stand mixer as well.) Mixture will be thick.

Pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake approximately 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let rest in pan on a cooling rack about 15 minutes. Gently lift parchment and bread out of pan, remove parchment from bread, and continue cooling bread on rack until completely cool.

Pinned from: Daily Forage-Gluten Free

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread with Pulp

  1. I love how simple it is to substitute butter with much better for you foods in baking. I have also found that these substitutes often make the finished product much more moist!

Leave a Reply

