Roasted Sweet Potato Mac-N-Cheese

The Recipe:

For the mac and cheese
  1. 500 grams gluten-free elbow macaroni
  2. 2 sweet potatoes (about 3 cups), cubed
  3. 2 cups unsweetened almond milk (or other milk of your choice)
  4. juice of 1/2 a lemon
  5. 1 teaspoon tamari (or regular soy sauce)
  6. 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  7. 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  8. 1 teaspoon dried chili flakes
  9. 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  10. 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil + more for drizzling
  11. 1 teaspoon sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  12. For garnish: a handful fresh parsley, roughly chopped
For the mushrooms
  1. 8 ounces mushrooms, washed and sliced
  2. 2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
  3. 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Place sweet potato cubes onto lightly greased baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper. Place in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes or until tender, turning once half way through.
  2. In the meanwhile, boil your pasta according to packaging instructions. Drain and place pasta back in the pot.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine lemon juice, dijon, garlic powder, chili flakes, nutritional yeast, olive oil, salt and pepper. Set aside.
  4. In a small pan, sauté mushrooms in oil on medium heat for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.
  5. Remove sweet potatoes from oven (don’t turn off the heat) and add sweet potatoes to the bowl with all your seasonings and almond milk. Mash well, combining all ingredients. Don’t worry if you have a few clumps. If the mixture is a little too thick, add another splash of almond milk.
  6. Add macaroni noodles to the bowl, and fold all ingredients together. Spoon all into a casserole dish, top with mushrooms and place in the oven for 10 minutes.
  7. Remove and sprinkle freshly chopped parsley overtop. Dig in!

The Takeaway:

Not my favorite… The gluten free pasta was good. Just make sure not to overcook it or it kinda turns to mush (same goes for reheating) [I don’t think gluten free pasta comes in 500 g packages]. It took me forever to find the nutritional yeast (or food yeast). None of my grocery stores carried it prepackaged, but I was able to find it in the bulk section of the health food grocery store. I also didn’t use the dijon mustard (I was sure I had it in the fridge, but turns out I didn’t and neither did the neighbor), so I used dried mustard instead. The recipe itself was easy to execute. The mashing of the sweet potatoes didn’t go as well as I’d hoped, so I used the electric stirrer on them to get them to a better consistency.  I’ve also decided that parsley is not my favorite herb… It tastes like soap to me, so I’ll be omitting parsley in the future.  The final product just didn’t have the right flavor or consistency for me. It was fine for one meal, but I had to finish the whole pan over the course of the week… Ugh. I suggest if you’re going to try it, 1/2 the recipe and make a smaller portion.

Leave a Reply

