EZ Tomato Soup

I have this great app: How to Cook Everything.

I needed a go to meal the other night… I wanted grilled cheese and tomato soup, except I didn’t have any tomato soup. I did, however, have tomatoes. So I thought, I’ll just make tomato soup. So I pulled up the app and voila! Tomato Soup! With lots of variations as well. I suggest checking out the app if you don’t already have it.

tomato-9

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 1 Large Onion, diced
  • 1 Carrot, diced
  • Salt and Ground Black Pepper
  • 3 Cups Peeled, Seeded, & Chopped Tomato (canned is fine-include the juices)
  • 1 Tsp Fresh Thyme Leaves or 1/2 tsp dried thyme or 1 Tbsp Chopped Fresh Basil Leaves
  • 2 to 3 Cups Chicken, Beef, or Vegetable Stock or Water
  • 1 Tsp Sugar (optional)
  • Chopped Fresh Parsley or Basil Leaves to Garnish (optional)

Directions

  • Put the oil in a large, deep pot over medium heat.
  • When hot, add the tomato paste and let it cook for a minute, then add the onion and carrot.
  • Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook, stirring, until the onion begins to soften, about 5 minutes.
  • Add the tomato and the herb and cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomato breaks up, about 10-15 minutes.
  • Add the stock, stir, and cook until hot, then adjust the heat and simmer until the flavors meld, about 5 minutes (you can refrigerate at this point, stored covered, for up to 2 days).
  • Taste and adjust the seasoning: if the soup tastes flat, stir in the sugar.
  • If the mix is too thick, add a little more stock or water.
  • Garnish with the herbs and serve.

I used three vine ripe tomatoes. I added more tomato paste and did add the sugar. I also used both thyme and basil (more basil bc I just love it!). I used 2 cups of chicken broth, did not add the carrots. I garnished with parmesan cheese.

The product was a chunky tomato soup, with good flavor. I liked it a lot.

Next time I will puree the tomatoes before I put them into the pot, bc I don’t think my husband enjoys the chunky tomatoes.

One thought on “EZ Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: Stirring the Pot: Stilling Stagnation | 101 Secrets

Leave a Reply

