Herbs Galore

I had a very fulfilling and successful day in the garden yesterday. Maybe a little too successful. I have an excess of many herbs and am already maxed on dried herbs.

I remember a conversation I had with a coworker the other day about ice cream, specifically a basil-lemon ice cream. He uses a simple syrup to add the basil flavor. So I decided to make some infused simple syrups with my herbs (as well as give some away and dry the rest).

Simple syrup is exactly that – SIMPLE.

All you need is equal parts sugar and water. Bring to a boil, stir, dissolve sugar, let cool. Done.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To infuse your simple syrup is also an easy process. I found recipes at Imbibe Magazine. I made Mint, Basil, Lemon Balm, and Lavender simple syrups. They last about 2 weeks in the refrigerator. I see a lot of ice cream (especially with the release of almond milk creamer!) and mixed drinks in the near future.

Leave a Reply

