Friendsgiving

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday! The whole idea of the day is to spend time with loved ones, enjoy good food and drinks, and give thanks for all the good things in our lives.

This year we are hosting Friendsgiving. Six of our friends will be joining us for all of the fun! This past weekend, I sat down and planned the menu and decorations. Pinterest was of course a great help!

Since I haven’t made any of it yet, I’m just going to share with you what I plan to  make and then afterwards I’ll report on how it all went.

The Menu

Holiday Sangria by Decor and the Dog

Deep-Fried Turkey (my husband insisted) by Patrick & Gina Neely on Food Network

Homemade Gravy by Modern Alternative Mama

Stove Top Stuffing by The Pistachio Project

Cranberry Relish with Orange and Ginger How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman

Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes by Alton Brown on Food Network

Green Bean Casserole because it’s one of my absolute favorites!

Spicy Glazed Carrots by BAJUNKIN on allrecipes.com

Pumpkin Pie How to Cook Everything App by Mark Bittman

One of our friends has a pretty significant gluten sensitivity, so I’m going to use Food for Life’s Ezekiel 4:9 bread for the stuffing. For the Pumpkin Pie, I am going to attempt to use almond milk (for my lactose intolerance) and make an almond flour (gluten free) crust. Recipe below.

Savory Pie Crust

A gluten-free, dairy-free almond flour crust.

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp baking soda
  • ¼ cup grape seed oil
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • (1 Tbsp minced scallions – white and green parts or parsley – for pot pie or quiche)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, and baking soda (and scallions). 
  • In a medium bowl whisk together the grape seed oil and water.
  • Stir the wet ingredients into the almond flour mixture until thoroughly combined.
  • Press the dough into a 9½-inch or deep-dish pie pan.
  • Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before filling.

I also really liked some of the recipes I found in a post by Naturally Ella for Vegetarian Thanksgiving Recipes, especially this Roasted Butternut Squash, Quinoa, & Arugula Salad!

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

 

Leave a Reply

