Creamy Vegan Corn & Red Pepper Blender Soup

I decided to try this recipe for Meatless Monday. The ingredients are easy and so is the prep. Great for throwing together after work, and you know how much I love throwing things in the blender!

IMG_4235-0

I forgot to thaw the corn, so I threw the frozen corn into a pot with a little soy creamer, cashew milk, and water (a little more than 1 cup) to warm it up just enough. Then I put about 14 oz of corn into the blender, along with 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, 1/2 a red pepper, a half of a red onion, and one large garlic clove. Of course I omitted the coconut.

Upon initial taste, my thought was – boring. I blended in the other half of the red pepper. Then dumped that all into a pot to warm it up, and added a teaspoon of paprika and cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon chipotle pepper (all out of cayenne). I still felt like it was missing something… So I added a little more minced garlic, corn, and some green onions and let it simmer. Added some salt and pepper, let it simmer.

All in all this wasn’t my favorite soup. I do, however, think that it is something I can tinker with to get it more to my liking.  I just couldn’t put my finger on what else it needed… It was definitely filling, as I couldn’t even finish my bowl.

I served the soup with a DF GF jalapeño corn bread.  I just used Bob’s Red Mill Corn Bread mix with cashew milk, olive oil, eggs, some corn and a can of diced jalapeños (I hate cutting jalapeños).

Original Recipe: AverieCOOKS

INGREDIENTS:

16-ounce bag frozen sweet corn, thawed to room temp (or fresh corn if you have it), divided
half of 1 large red bell pepper, deseeded
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (or 1/4 cup raw cashews or Parmesan cheese – not vegan)
1 heaping tablespoon coconut oil (use another oil like olive or canola if you’re sensitive to coconut flavor)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste
half of 1 small red onion, peeled; optional
1 to 2 cloves garlic, peeled; optional
about 1 cup water (or use coconut water, milk, almond/soy/nut milk, cream)
salt and pepper, optional to taste

DIRECTIONS:

  1. To the canister of a high speed blender, add three-quarters of the bag of corn (about 3 cups, just eyeball it), all the remaining ingredients, about 1/2 cup water, and blend. Based on how thick soup is, and personal taste preference, add more water until desired consistency is reached.
  2. After desired consistency is reached, stir in remaining corn by hand to preserve texture.
  3. Optionally, add salt and pepper to taste. I didn’t.
  4. Soup may have gotten warm in your blender canister. If not, and you prefer it warmer, transfer to a microwave-safe bowl and heat until warm, about 1 minute. Alternatively, soup can be heated gently on the stovetop. In warmer months, soup can be served chilled, like gazpacho. Soup will keep airtight in the refrigerator for up to 5 days or in the freezer for up to 4 months.

*I got nutritional yeast from the bulk bins at Whole Foods in case you are having trouble finding it.

Follow Me On Pinterest

Leave a Reply

