BBQ Crockpot Chicken & Spicy No-Mayo Coleslaw

Our house is on the market, and I needed fast easy food for dinner. The place has to look immaculate and I can’t spend a bunch of time cooking large meals and/or cleaning them up (also don’t want to eat all of our meals out).

So I threw chicken in a crock pot and then found The Best Crockpot BBQ Chicken recipe on Pinterest. It seemed easy enough and I had most of the ingredients. I used 2 chicken breasts and subbed the Italian dressing for good ole vegetable broth. I didn’t season the chicken initially bc I threw it in the crockpot with the veggie broth and started heating it up on low. Then I went to find a good recipe. Once I found the bbq chicken recipe I dumped out all but 1/4 cup of the chicken broth and added the other ingredients. I also just dumped the ingredients into the crockpot and stirred it all up inside (I wouldn’t recommend that).

I was thinking about what to serve with the BBQ chicken… and decided corn on the cob and coleslaw would be good. So of course I needed a coleslaw recipe. I used the How to Cook Everything app to find a coleslaw recipe and was surprised that this one didn’t use mayo. I was also a little skeptical… but decided it was worth a try bc everything I’ve used this app for has turned out well. I used a small bag of sliced cabbage – 10 oz. I think, which was about  6 cups. I used a habanero pepper from the garden and green/white onion bc I didn’t have the scallions. I was happy with the consistency, it was nice and creamy despite not using mayo. It had a small kick, which I really enjoyed.

I don’t normally make BBQ anything, so my husband was pretty excited. He really enjoyed the chicken, which I served on toasted buns and then topped with the slaw.  I also used the slaw on a burger a couple days later and on a few turkey sandwiches.  I will definitely be making both of these again. Hope you enjoy!

The-Best-Crockpot-BBQ-Chicken-FamilyFreshMeals.com-

Recipe: The Best Crockpot BBQ Chicken
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 4 hours
Total time: 4 hours 5 mins
Serves: 4-6
Ingredients
  • 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce
  • ¼ cup Italian dressing
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • salt to taste
Instructions
  1. Season chicken breast lightly (a small pinch per breast) with some sea salt and place in your crockpot.
  2. In a mixing bowl combine BBQ sauce, Italian dressing, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce. Stir until well combined.
  3. Pour over chicken, cover and cook on HIGH for 3-4 hours
  4. Once time is up, you can serve the breast whole, or shred with 2 forks. If shredding, recover and let cook in sauce for about 10-15 more minutes to soak up all the flavor.

Recipe: Spicy No‐Mayo Coleslaw
By Mark Bittman
From the How to Cook Everything for iPhone® app

Introduction:

If you want restaurant‐style coleslaw, you take shredded cabbage and combine it with mayo and maybe a little lemon juice. This version is far more flavorful with far less fat. I like cabbage salad (which is what coleslaw amounts to) on the spicy side, so I use plenty of Dijon, along with a little garlic and chile (you could substitute cayenne for the chile or just omit it if you prefer), and scallions.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard, or to taste
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar, red wine vinegar, or freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh chile, like jalapeño, Thai, serrano, or habanero, or to taste (optional)
  • ¼ cup peanut oil or extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 cups cored and shredded Napa, Savoy, green, and/or red cabbage
  • 1 large red or yellow bell pepper, cored, seeded, and diced or shredded
  • ⅓ cup chopped scallion, more or less
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh parsley leaves

Steps:

  1. To make the dressing, whisk together the mustard and vinegar in a small bowl, along with the garlic and chile. Add the oil a little at a time, whisking all the while.
  2. Combine the cabbage, bell pepper, and scallion and toss with the dressing. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and refrigerate until ready to serve. (It’s best to let the slaw rest for an hour or so to allow the flavors to mellow; the cabbage will also soften a bit and exude some juice. You can let it sit longer, up to 24 hours, if you like. Drain the slaw before continuing.) Just before serving, toss with the parsley.

Variations:

Cabbage and Carrot Slaw, Mexican Style

Grate 2 medium carrots and use them instead of the bell pepper. Use freshly squeezed lime juice in place of the vinegar. Finish with cilantro if you like instead of the parsley.

Apple Slaw

Use carrots instead of bell pepper. Use 1 medium onion, grated, in place of the scallion. Shred or grate 2 medium or 1 large Granny Smith apples (or use any tart, crisp, apple) and include them in the mix. Lemon juice or cider vinegar is the best choice of acid here.

Leave a Reply

