Spicy Zucchini Refrigerator Pickles

A friend of mine actually shared this recipe with me because we were discussing my abundance of zucchini. I didn’t grow any this year, but a neighbor gave me more than I could just cook up for dinner. I really like regular pickles, and truth be told I was a little nervous about “zucchini pickles.”  But I was assured these were great, and that I would love them. I wasn’t let down. I even brought these to a cookout, and got rave reviews as well.  This was so easy I made two jars. I’ve enjoyed them on burgers, turkey sandwiches, chopped up in my tuna salad, and just plain.

These zucchini pickles have a nice crunch, a shot of garlic and dill, and just a little spice to go with it.

yield: 1 PINT •  prep time: 10 MINUTES •  total time: 10 MINUTES

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 pounds medium zucchini
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and halved
  • 3/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, or more to taste (we like up to 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 6 black peppercorns
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 head dill (or a few sprigs)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Wash and dry a pint-sized glass jar with airtight lid. I used a Weck jar and a squat pint jar.
  2. Cut the zucchini into 1/4-inch slices. Place in jar along with the cloves of garlic. Squeeze them in tight.
  3. Add the vinegar, sugar, red pepper flakes, peppercorns, mustard seeds, and salt to a small saucepan. Set it over medium heat and bring just to a boil.
  4. Remove from heat and carefully pour over zucchinis and garlic in the jar. Top with dill, immersing it as much as possible. Place the lid on the jar and refrigerate for 24 hours.
  5. Open and serve.
  6. These keep 7-10 days in the fridge; but some sources say refrigerator pickles can last up to a month or more.
Leave a Reply

