Slow Cooker Pumpkin Chili

Being from Cincinnati, I’m a huge chili fan! I love Skyline Chili – no negative comments please – and yes I eat my chili over spaghetti noodles (I prefer angel hair) and even over rice, don’t forget the oyster crackers.  My traditional chili is a red chili with lots of veggies and ground turkey.

Since the weather is getting cooler, it’s time to start making chili! I saw this recipe from Vega and decided it was a must try. Besides some chopping and sautéing there really isn’t anything you have to do for this recipe; stir once in a while. Heck, I even used my food processor for the onions, garlic, and jalapeño.

The only problem I had with making the recipe is that my crock pot was too small, so it had to go on the stove. After the fact I thought, why didn’t I just 1/2 the recipe… I don’t really need 8-10 servings. Oh well, more to enjoy. i omitted the coriander and tomato paste; I didn’t have either. I added some cumin and ground sage, 1/4 teaspoon of each in place of the coriander.

My husband had two bowls!

Prep Time: 7 minutes  •  Total Time: 6 hours  •  Servings: 8-10

Ingredients

  • ½ Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 (15oz) canned pumpkin
  • 2 (28 oz) cans diced tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp oregano
  • 4 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 (15oz) can kidney beans
  • 1 (15oz) can black beans
  • 2 cups corn (fresh or frozen)
  • 2 Tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. In a pot, sauté onions, garlic and jalapenos in oil until onions are translucent about 5-7 minutes.
  2. Add all ingredients into slow cooker and cook on low for 5-6 hours.
  3. Enjoy!

You can use fresh pumpkin – just cut in half, lightly oil, bake, and then scoop.

You can also use fresh tomatoes.

Try serving with some corn bread.

Leave a Reply

