Curried Eggplant w/ Tomatoes & Basil

We buy a lot of eggplant in St. Croix. They are plentiful at the market here and nearly everyone eats them. Mushrooms, although very healthy, are too expensive and only sold in the markets. So I use eggplant instead of mushroom for a lot of my meals.

I was recently searching for new recipes that use eggplants. Of course I got a bunch of the fried or covered in cheese recipes… But then I found this gem from Real Simple.

I thought I had curry powder, but I only had cumin… So of course I searched for a basic curry powder recipe to use. I still didn’t have all the ingredients, but it all worked out. I used cumin, turmeric, red pepper flakes, and regular yellow mustard. I also just used regular white rice and cooked according to package instructions. I used 3/4 of an onion instead of 1 cup as I was afraid it may be too much onion. I omitted the yogurt.

I REALLY ENJOYED THIS DISH! Even without the correct curry powder, it was so good! It was filling, but not heavy and the flavors were perfect. I loved all the tomatoes! I was thinking it may be good with the addition of spinach… Now I need to buy curry powder!

INGREDIENTS

  • cup white basmati rice
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • onion, chopped
  • pints cherry tomatoes, halved
  • eggplant (about 1 pound), cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 15.5-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup plain low-fat yogurt (preferably Greek), optional

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a medium saucepan with a tight-fitting lid, combine the rice, 1 ½ cups water, and ½ teaspoon salt and bring to a boil. Stir the rice once, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 18 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 4 to 6 minutes.
  3. Stir in the tomatoes, eggplant, curry powder, 1 teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon black pepper. Cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add 2 cups water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, partially covered, until eggplant is tender, 12 to 15 minutes.
  5. Stir in the chickpeas and cook just until heated through, about 3 minutes.
  6. Remove the vegetables from heat and stir in the basil. Fluff the rice with a fork. Serve the vegetables over the rice with yogurt, if using.

 

Leave a Reply

